God’s Name

This morning, I spent time with the Middle School students of the Martin J. Gottlieb Day School during our morning Shacharit prayer service focusing on writing as a spiritual expression. Looking at the words of the prayer Baruch She’amar, the introduction to the Pesukei Dezimrah preliminary service, we focused on the words Baruch Shemo, meaning “Praised be God’s Name.” Asked to write down what we think God’s Name is, this is what I came up with:

 

Adonai.

You who are me, who is a part of me. You  are made in my image, for I am made in Your image.

Eheyeh asher Eheyeh. He who will be what will be. She that is. Who rules now and always.

Creator of Heaven and Earth, man and woman, light and darkness, good and evil.

Author of our thoughts, our words. Director of our Actions, Guide in our decisions.

Hashem: The name. The name that is not spoken, the name that is unknown. The name that is known to all in any language, in every language.

God. Gd. G-d. G O D. The Mighty. The Almighty, on High. Father of Heaven. Mother on Earth. My Rock. My Redeemer.

The Shoulder to lean on, to cry on. The Back to carry me when I cannot walk. The Hand to hold so I know I am not alone.

Hamakom. The Place. The Presence. Here. Everywhere.

 

 

How do you refer to God?

– Rabbi Jesse M. Olitzky

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “God’s Name

  1. Hi Rabbi,
    I enjoyed reading your Blogs today …. Great info and insights!
    Kol Tuv,
    Barry Chefer

Leave a Reply

